Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Revised homework with addition regarding display ad question.

Online Marketing Homework
Dated December 5, 2009

1) IP address: My host location is in the same town as my physical home location: Cortlandt Manor.
The geographic location is Cortlandt Manor, latitude: 41.2827, longitude: -73.8691.

2) Google Analytics:
i) For the period November 2009, 1261 visited the site.
ii) Auckland (New Zealand) is the furthest city from SUNY Purchase.
iii) Netfront was the least browser used by site visitors for November 2009.
iv) Under traffic sources. The key words most used to visit the site for the November 2009 period was “internet business wiki”.
v) Under content. The page most visited for the November period was “/outline-and-learning-outcomes”.
vi) Under goals. The total conversion rate for the November period was 11.50%.
vii) Under goal value. If received $10.00 for every person who visited Assignments page in November 2009:
145 conversions x $10.00 = $1450.00
viii) Under funnel visualization.
The percent of visitors visited the home page = 98.73%
Working: 1245 visited home page / 1261 total visitors x 100 = 1245/1261 x 100 = 98.73%
viii) The percent of visitors that then visited the Assignments page =
11.50%
Working: 145 conversion / 1261 total visitors x 100 = 145/1261 x 100= 11.50%

3) David’s Bathroom Renovation
1) A business website: www.harrryanddavid.com

Four points explaining why harryanddavid.com website is effective:
i) The website promotes the brand name. Harry and David have been operating in the gift basket business for over 70 years. Their brand name has achieved great awareness around the nation. The website is a business strategy to strengthen the business model.
ii) The website directs customers to make purchases. The website is now promoting special Christmas deals. At this moment as I type this assignment, Harryanddavid.com is offering a Blitzen deal today, December 5, 2009, which has 1 hour 25 minutes 47 seconds remaining before the deal ends at 12 midnight. The deal is a one day offer. The Christmas gift basket which was at a regular price of $79.95 is now for $49.95 saving 37% if the customer shops now. This is just one example of how Harryanddavid.com is effectively using their website to entice and convert viewers to consumers. Another special offer that is now being offered is free shipping delivery for All-the-fruit-month club gifts.
iii) Harryanddavid.com website is effective because the owners do not only promote their gourmet/fresh foods and fruits but the website has information that is useful to the customer in making his/her shopping experience on-line delightful. Included on the website are interactive easy entertaining recipes and easy entertaining videos to guide the customers in preparing a menu or meals.
iv) Harryanddavid.com has a compelling content with colorful, large pictures, delicious, crisp, high quality looking fruits and food backed by the strongest guarantee in the business outlined at the bottom of the website. Therefore the customer can guarantee that their purchase is indeed a good one.

2) A display ad that sells similar products to David’s Bathroom Renovation Store is Faucetdirect. It has a display ad powered by the goggle website on the left and also on the Squidoo website at the top. The website is: www.Faucetdirect.com/kohler. Faucetdirect sells Kohler bathroom faucets including sinks, toilets, bidets, tubs, showers systems, etc.
Source: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=bathroom+remodeling+stores&aq=f&oq=&aqi=

http://www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums

I am putting this weblink because the other links I had are no longer there when you click on them. This is a display ad for directfaucet. The display ad is on the top and right side of the website. http://www.simplybestcoupons.com/Coupons/FaucetDirect.com/


3)To decide which forum/blog/community to become a member for David’s Bath Renovation Store is not an easy one. There are countless of blogs, forums, communities on the Internet. Anyone can start a blog on any topic or subject, and this became challenging to help David’s business in participating in a blog/forum/community. When I made a search on Goggle search engine, I came up with some popular results: www.remodelcrazy.com/ ; http://www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums; and http://www.blogged.com/topics/bathroom-remodel/. I would suggest that David does not limit his business to just one blog but participate in other blogs for increase publicity. However in the above blogs, I would suggest www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums because David can learn about new products, new remodeling designs, new energy products, bathroom videos, bathroom photographs, slideshows, news about the industry, learn about what customers are looking for, bathroom remodeling regulations, bathroom remodeling designs, ideas, and do it your self bathroom remodeling and the like. There is a wider amount of information on this blog that can help David better serve his customers because of the customer feedback and information regarding the products/service, offer better products that will help solve his customers’ problems, and learn more about the industry. Also, the forum is free and can allow David to network with others in the industry.


4) Some search words that customers may use when searching for the kinds of products that David sells are:
- Keywords “bathroom products” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Kohler - http://www.us.kohler.com/onlinecatalog/section.jsp?section=2&nsection=2&nsubsection=3
- 2) HomePortfolio - http://www.homeportfolio.com/top/bathroom.html
- 3) American Standard - http://www.americanstandard-us.com/bathroom/
- The key words “bathroom fixtures” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Kohler - http://www.us.kohler.com/index.jsp
- 2) American Standard - http://www.americanstandard-us.com/
- 3) Faucet.com - http://www.faucet.com/category/bathroom
- The keywords “bathroom hardware” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Overstook.com - http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Bath/1301/cat.html
- 2) The Hardware Hut - http://www.thehardwarehut.com/bath_accessories.php
- 3) The Home Depot - http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Navigation?storeId=10051&categoryID=503535&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&cm_mmc=thd_marketing-_-digitas-_-weather_potw-_-tools_list
- The key words “bathroom vanities” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Buyvanitiesonline - http://www.buyvanitiesonline.com/
- 2) TradeWindsImports - http://www.tradewindsimports.com/
- 3) Overstock.com -
- http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Bath-Vanities/6429/subcat.html
- The keywords “bathroom furniture” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Bathroom Furniture Direct - //www.bathroomfurnituredirect.com/
- 2) Home Decorators Collections - http://www.homedecorators.com/bath/
- 3) 4Bathroom Furniture - http://www.4bathroomfurniture.com/

These sites above were listed the highest under the key words because they use the search words that they believe people will enter when looking for bathroom related products and they were the highest bidders for the key words.

5)
1) Under Google keyword tool, the relevant key words from the highest are:
bathroom – 11, 100,000 global monthly search
toilet – 6,120,000 global monthly search
faucet – 3,350,000 global monthly search
faucets - 2,240,000 global monthly search
bathtub - 1,500,000 global monthly search
baths - 1,000,000 global monthly search
bathroom vanity - 673,000 global monthly search
bathroom fixtures – 550,000 global monthly search
bath remodeling – 550, 000 global monthly search


5)
2) Using the Google traffic estimator to estimate the cost per day of advertising using the below proposed keywords:
The key word “bathroom” estimated cost per day $3350 - $5860.00
The key word “toilet” estimated cost per day $960 - $1710.00
The key word “faucet” estimated cost per day $1160 - $2070.00.

6) If 1% of people who click made a purchase, what is David’s cost acquisition cost from search advertising?
Using the keyword “bathroom” as per the Google Traffic Estimator, the average cost per click $1.31.
Customer acquisition cost: 1.31 x 1/0.01 = 1.31 x 100 = $131.00


7) David’s average sale value is $4000.00, his gross margin is 50%. Does it make sense for David to search advertising using the keyword I proposed?
Using the keyword “bathroom” the CAC: $131.00
50% x $4000= $2000.00 profit
The profit contribution is $2000.00
The sale value is $4000.00
It would make sense for David to use the search advertising because his profit covers his CAC. David would cover his CAC 15.2 times = $2000.00/$131.00.

8) David can use social media sites like Facebook and Twitter in his marketing campaign because these sites are highly popular sites that can provide free promotion about David’s store. David can use these social media networks to cultivate friends but more importantly have friends share his website and content with other family and friends like a virus. With a compelling content providing continual special offers, product information and the like to stimulate purchases to change a state. Viral marketing can be less costly than other marketing campaigns; therefore, I would suggest that is one marketing campaign that David can look into. He can have a fanpage to highlight his special offers, product information, videos, photos, slideshows, news about new bathroom products/fixtures, and the like. If he does not get that many hits for sales, the reality is on facebook or twitter the marketing cost is minimal or zero, it does not hurt in terms of money to use this marketing campaign to promote David’s store not only in the nation, but also worldwide.
Natachia
Online Marketing Homework
Dated December 5, 2009

1) IP address: My host location is in the same town as my physical home location: Cortlandt Manor.
The geographic location is Cortlandt Manor, latitude: 41.2827, longitude: -73.8691.

2) Google Analytics:
i) For the period November 2009, 1261 visited the site.
ii) Auckland (New Zealand) is the furthest city from SUNY Purchase.
iii) Netfront was the least browser used by site visitors for November 2009.
iv) Under traffic sources. The key words most used to visit the site for the November 2009 period was “internet business wiki”.
v) Under content. The page most visited for the November period was “/outline-and-learning-outcomes”.
vi) Under goals. The total conversion rate for the November period was 11.50%.
vii) Under goal value. If received $10.00 for every person who visited Assignments page in November 2009:
145 conversions x $10.00 = $1450.00
viii) Under funnel visualization.
The percent of visitors visited the home page = 98.73%
Working: 1245 visited home page / 1261 total visitors x 100 = 1245/1261 x 100 = 98.73%
viii) The percent of visitors that then visited the Assignments page =
11.50%
Working: 145 conversion / 1261 total visitors x 100 = 145/1261 x 100= 11.50%

3) David’s Bathroom Renovation
1) A business website: http://www.harrryanddavid.com/

Four points explaining why harryanddavid.com website is effective:
i) The website promotes the brand name. Harry and David have been operating in the gift basket business for over 70 years. Their brand name has achieved great awareness around the nation. The website is a business strategy to strengthen the business model.
ii) The website directs customers to make purchases. The website is now promoting special Christmas deals. At this moment as I type this assignment, Harryanddavid.com is offering a Blitzen deal today, December 5, 2009, which has 1 hour 25 minutes 47 seconds remaining before the deal ends at 12 midnight. The deal is a one day offer. The Christmas gift basket which was at a regular price of $79.95 is now for $49.95 saving 37% if the customer shops now. This is just one example of how Harryanddavid.com is effectively using their website to entice and convert viewers to consumers. Another special offer that is now being offered is free shipping delivery for All-the-fruit-month club gifts.
iii) Harryanddavid.com website is effective because the owners do not only promote their gourmet/fresh foods and fruits but the website has information that is useful to the customer in making his/her shopping experience on-line delightful. Included on the website are interactive easy entertaining recipes and easy entertaining videos to guide the customers in preparing a menu or meals.
iv) Harryanddavid.com has a compelling content with colorful, large pictures, delicious, crisp, high quality looking fruits and food backed by the strongest guarantee in the business outlined at the bottom of the website. Therefore the customer can guarantee that their purchase is indeed a good one.

2) A display ad that sells similar products to David’s Bathroom Renovation Store is Faucetdirect. It has a display ad powered by the goggle website on the left and also on the Squidoo website at the top. The website is: www.Faucetdirect.com/kohler. Faucetdirect sells Kohler bathroom faucets including sinks, toilets, bidets, tubs, showers systems, etc.
Source: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=bathroom+remodeling+stores&aq=f&oq=&aqi=

http://www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums


3)To decide which forum/blog/community to become a member for David’s Bath Renovation Store is not an easy one. There are countless of blogs, forums, communities on the Internet. Anyone can start a blog on any topic or subject, and this became challenging to help David’s business in participating in a blog/forum/community. When I made a search on Goggle search engine, I came up with some popular results: www.remodelcrazy.com/ ; http://www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums; and http://www.blogged.com/topics/bathroom-remodel/. I would suggest that David does not limit his business to just one blog but participate in other blogs for increase publicity. However in the above blogs, I would suggest www.squidoo.com/BathroomRemodelingForums because David can learn about new products, new remodeling designs, new energy products, bathroom videos, bathroom photographs, slideshows, news about the industry, learn about what customers are looking for, bathroom remodeling regulations, bathroom remodeling designs, ideas, and do it your self bathroom remodeling and the like. There is a wider amount of information on this blog that can help David better serve his customers because of the customer feedback and information regarding the products/service, offer better products that will help solve his customers’ problems, and learn more about the industry. Also, the forum is free and can allow David to network with others in the industry.


4) Some search words that customers may use when searching for the kinds of products that David sells are:
- Keywords “bathroom products” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Kohler - http://www.us.kohler.com/onlinecatalog/section.jsp?section=2&nsection=2&nsubsection=3
- 2) HomePortfolio - http://www.homeportfolio.com/top/bathroom.html
- 3) American Standard - http://www.americanstandard-us.com/bathroom/
- The key words “bathroom fixtures” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Kohler - http://www.us.kohler.com/index.jsp
- 2) American Standard - http://www.americanstandard-us.com/
- 3) Faucet.com - http://www.faucet.com/category/bathroom
- The keywords “bathroom hardware” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Overstook.com - http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Bath/1301/cat.html
- 2) The Hardware Hut - http://www.thehardwarehut.com/bath_accessories.php
- 3) The Home Depot - http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Navigation?storeId=10051&categoryID=503535&langId=-1&catalogId=10053&cm_mmc=thd_marketing-_-digitas-_-weather_potw-_-tools_list
- The key words “bathroom vanities” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Buyvanitiesonline - http://www.buyvanitiesonline.com/
- 2) TradeWindsImports - http://www.tradewindsimports.com/
- 3) Overstock.com -
- http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden/Bath-Vanities/6429/subcat.html
- The keywords “bathroom furniture” the top 3 results that are not sponsored links are:
- 1) Bathroom Furniture Direct - //www.bathroomfurnituredirect.com/
- 2) Home Decorators Collections - http://www.homedecorators.com/bath/
- 3) 4Bathroom Furniture - http://www.4bathroomfurniture.com/

These sites above were listed the highest under the key words because they use the search words that they believe people will enter when looking for bathroom related products and they were the highest bidders for the key words.

5)
1) Under Google keyword tool, the relevant key words from the highest are:
bathroom – 11, 100,000 global monthly search
toilet – 6,120,000 global monthly search
faucet – 3,350,000 global monthly search
faucets - 2,240,000 global monthly search
bathtub - 1,500,000 global monthly search
baths - 1,000,000 global monthly search
bathroom vanity - 673,000 global monthly search
bathroom fixtures – 550,000 global monthly search
bath remodeling – 550, 000 global monthly search


5)
2) Using the Google traffic estimator to estimate the cost per day of advertising using the below proposed keywords:
The key word “bathroom” estimated cost per day $3350 - $5860.00
The key word “toilet” estimated cost per day $960 - $1710.00
The key word “faucet” estimated cost per day $1160 - $2070.00.

6) If 1% of people who click made a purchase, what is David’s cost acquisition cost from search advertising?
Using the keyword “bathroom” as per the Google Traffic Estimator, the average cost per click $1.31.
Customer acquisition cost: 1.31 x 1/0.01 = 1.31 x 100 = $131.00


7) David’s average sale value is $4000.00, his gross margin is 50%. Does it make sense for David to search advertising using the keyword I proposed?
Using the keyword “bathroom” the CAC: $131.00
50% x $4000= $2000.00 profit
The profit contribution is $2000.00
The sale value is $4000.00
It would make sense for David to use the search advertising because his profit covers his CAC. David would cover his CAC 15.2 times = $2000.00/$131.00.

8) David can use social media sites like Facebook and Twitter in his marketing campaign because these sites are highly popular sites that can provide free promotion about David’s store. David can use these social media networks to cultivate friends but more importantly have friends share his website and content with other family and friends like a virus. With a compelling content providing continual special offers, product information and the like to stimulate purchases to change a state. Viral marketing can be less costly than other marketing campaigns; therefore, I would suggest that is one marketing campaign that David can look into. He can have a fanpage to highlight his special offers, product information, videos, photos, slideshows, news about new bathroom products/fixtures, and the like. If he does not get that many hits for sales, the reality is on facebook or twitter the marketing cost is minimal or zero, it does not hurt in terms of money to use this marketing campaign to promote David’s store not only in the nation, but also worldwide.